About the Panelists

Water After Borders brings together international participants and speakers from a variety of academic, political, community, and industry settings in order to discuss social issues surrounding the management of transboundary water systems, such as the Great Lakes.

For more information about the individuals involved with Water After Borders, please see biographies for our confirmed speakers, included below.


Dr. Rachel Havrelock
Associate Professor of English at the University of Illinois at Chicago


H.E. Eng. Saad Abu Hammour
Head of the Jordan Valley Authority


Gidon Bromberg
Israeli Director at EcoPeace (formerly Friends of the Earth Middle East)


Dr. Kathryn Bryk Friedman
Associate Professor at the University of Buffalo Regional Institute

Kathryn Bryk Friedman

Mayor John Dickert
Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Chair - GLSL Cities Initiative


Kellen Marshall
Doctoral Student in Biology at the University of Illinois, Chicago

Kellen Marshall

Dr. Stephen Gasteyer
Associate Professor of Sociology at Michigan State University

Stephen Gasteyer

Henry L. Henderson
Director, Midwest Program, Natural Resources Defense Council

Henry L. Henderson

Dr. Gail Krantzberg
Professor and Director of the Centre for Engineering and Public Policy at McMaster University
Gail Krantzberg

Mr. Hassan Jirmi
Mayor of Zubeidat

Hassan Jirmi

Nader Al-Khateeb
Palestinian Director at EcoPeace (formerly Friends of the Earth Middle East)
Nader Al-Khateeb

Commissioner Debra Shore
Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Debra Shore

Mayor Mitch Twolan
Huron-Kinloss, Ontario, Canada
Vice Chair - GLSL Cities Initiative


Howard A. Learner
Executive Director, Environmental Law & Policy Center, Chicago

Howard A. Learner

David Naftzger
Executive Director, Council of Great Lakes Governors

David Naftzger

Samer Alatout
Assoc. Professor, Department of Community & Environmental Sociology at University of Wisconsin

Samer Alatout

Dr. Susan Hedman
Administrator for EPA's Region 5 Office in Chicago

woman-headshot-silhouette-grey-hi copy

Mr. Khalifah Suliman
Mohammad Aldayyat
Mayor of Dier Allah


Munqueth Mehyar
Jordanian Director at EcoPeace (formerly Friends of the Earth Middle East)

Mayor Denis Lapointe
Quebec, Canada
Board Member, GLSL Cities Initiative


Dr. Carissa Slotterback
Associate Professor, Chair of Urban & Regional Planning Program at the University of Minnesota
Carissa Slotterback

Aaron Koch
Deputy Commissioner for Sustainability, City of Chicago Department of Water Management
Aaron Koch

Joel Brammeier
President and CEO,
Alliance for the Great Lakes


President Mariyana Spyropoulos
Board of Commissioners, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago


Commissioner Lana Pollack
Chair of U.S. Section of the International Joint Commission

woman-headshot-silhouette-grey-hi copy

Mr. Ran Molho
Israeli Kinerret (Sea of Galilee)
Drainage Authority


Peter Mulvaney
Global Water Specialist
at Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill, LLP


Michael Goffin
Environment Canada, Regional Director General - Ontario

Michael Goffin

Dr. Wenona Singel
Associate Professor of Law & Associate Director of Indigenous Law & Policy Center, Michigan State
Wenona Singel

Daniel Injerd
Director, Office of Water Resources, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
Daniel Injerd

Jumana Vasi
Program Officer
, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation